Portfolio of Kimberly Johans

A collection of articles created during my stint as a journalist at The Macau Daily Times

Adding a Macanese flavour to classic rock

Posted by Kimberly on November 29, 2007

By Kimberly Johans
Published in The Macau Daily Times
November 29, 2007 (320 words)

Macanese Fred Ritchie is in town with the Macanese contingent, to get the local community onto their feet and shaking their bodies to music from the 1960s.

His band, for the Macau gig, including two of his sons, will play several familiar tunes and music from bands such as the Rolling Stones, tonight and again, on December 2.

“I’m from Macau but moved to live in Brazil around the age of 20,” he said, adding that his move was followed by stints on television soaps ‘Fantastico’ and Faustao’ among others, which was watched by over 100 million Brazilians.

“The last show was called Super Pop,” he said, with “in Brazil, country music is very popular and I changed all Portuguese music into English and Chinese.”

He cited this as a “unique difference.”

With four children, two are musicians, who also have their own group, playing different music and composing their own songs.

The family group were invited by the Macau government to perform a concert, and part of the reason why must surely have to do with the fact that Fred travels to Macau at least six times each year.

“You could say I never left Macau,” he said, adding, “It’s my home country and I think I hold the record.

“Nobody believes me,” he said.

But he stressed his love of Macau, saying that he was also a businessman.

“I have business in Brazil and China, but that’s just an excuse because I like to come back here,” he said.

The band will be playing about eight favourites such as ‘Black is Black,’ ‘Shakin’ all Over,’ ‘Good Molly Miss Molly,’ as well as bands including the Kinks and Troggs and the Beach Boys.

“I chose the 1960s because most of the Macanese are from that era,” he said, adding “I’m a country and rock’n’roll man myself.”

For more information , please contact Macao Trade and Investment Promotion Institute (IPIM).

 

Leave a Reply

 
